Setback

Remember the “many twists and turns that I can’t even imagine at this stage” I promised to let you know about in my first post?

I didn’t think I’d need to write about a setback at such an early stage, but I’m putting aside my half-written Jew-y post to bring you this one instead about where things currently stand…

On the morning I launched this blog I also started Lupron shots – these are daily injections that basically suppress my ovaries to prevent my own eggs from getting in the way. I was super nervous to start them, even though these shots are subcutaneous (new vocab word!) with a small needle that goes into the surface of the fatty tissue. Each morning since, Super Jamie, RN has had the privilege of jabbing me in the belly and then going about his business for the day.

Scared as I was, I swear, the first time he did it I must have asked him three times if he actually got the job done, despite knowing full well that the medication neither remained in the syringe nor dripped down my body. I couldn’t believe that I hardly felt a thing yet after checking in with my legitimately-credentialed nurse, I settled on believing that maybe this part didn’t have to be so bad after all.

Fast forward to today, my first monitoring appointment to make sure everything is proceeding according to plan. Bottom line: it’s not. Basically, my numbers are all over the place and for whatever reason, the suppression part of things didn’t work and I was instructed to stop medications as we need to cancel this cycle. 

I won’t lie, I was disappointed to get this news. More so than I thought I might be.

However, the upside is that this sort of thing is not unheard of and women do go on to have successful outcomes in the future. AND, the doctor thinks that we may be successful with something called a natural cycle, where we’d monitor my natural hormone levels and rely on those leading up to a transfer. I’d heard about natural cycles before but assumed they were reserved for those who are significantly earthier and crunchier than I, however, for those of you keeping track at home, Natural Cycle = No Needles!

Now, I really shouldn’t get ahead of myself as this is still only one option on the table and of course I’ll do whatever the doctor, Vivianne and David think is best. And from what I understand, a natural cycle can still include some medications and certainly would include ongoing monitoring in the form of blood draws, however… all things being equal, if I could do this whole thing without intramuscular injections daily for upwards of 4 months? I’ll take it.

3 thoughts on “Setback

  1. What you are doing is amazing.

    My now 8 year old twin daughters are a product of a ‘natural’ IVF cycle. They were frozen embryos retrieved from a medicated fresh IVF cycle and frozen after. The doctors just monitored me with my natural cycle, no medication, and transferred my 3 last frozen embryos. I now have my beautiful twins.

    Good luck! It can be done on a natural cycle!!!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Can Jews be Surrogates? | there's no i in uterus

  3. Pingback: All Systems Go | there's no i in uterus

Leave a Reply

